2018 Innovation Awards -Update

The Association is pleased to announce that 21 schools submitted applications for the 2018 MN Charter School Innovation Awards. The vast majority of applications are from charter schools that have not applied previously. The 2018 Awards will be given out during National Charter Schools Week – May 7-11, 2018.

The MN Charter School Innovation Awards were established the by Association’s Board in 2016 to celebrate the 25th Anniversary of Minnesota’s Charter School Law. There are five categories of awards which coincide with the five innovative purposes defined for chartered public schools. The Awards are awarded annually during National Charter Schools Week.



40 Charter Schools Designated High Quality by MN Department of Education

Last week the MN Department of Education announced that 40 charter schools were designated High Quality Charter Schools and are eligible to apply for a Expansion or Replication Grant in 2018.


AFSA High School, Vadnais Heights; Arcadia Charter School, Northfield; Aspen Academy, Savage; Athlos Leadership Academy, Brooklyn Park; Cologne Academy, Cologne; Community of Peace Academy, St. Paul;

DaVinci Academy, Ham Lake; Discovery WoodsStar of the North Academy Montessori School, Brainerd; Eagle Ridge Academy Charter School, Minnetonka; East Range Academy of Technical Science, Eveleth; Face to Face Academy, St. Paul;

Global Academy, Columbia Heights; Great Expectations, Grand Marais; Harbor City International, Duluth; Higher Ground Academy, St. Paul; Hmong College Prep Academy, St. Paul; International Spanish Language Academy, Minnetonka;

KIPP Minnesota Charter School, Minneapolis; La Crescent Montessori & STEM School, La Crescent; Lionsgate Academy, Minnetonka; Math and Science Academy, Woodbury;

Nasha Shkola Charter School, Brooklyn Park; New Discoveries Montessori Academy, Hutchinson; Noble Academy, Brooklyn Park; North Lakes Academy, Forest Lake; Northeast College Prep, Minneapolis; Nova Classical Academy, St. Paul; Prodeo Academy, Minneapolis;

Riverway Learning Community Charter, Winona; Spectrum High School, Elk RiverStar of the North Charter School, East Bethel; STEP Academy Charter School, St. Paul; Swan River Montessori Charter School, Monticello; TrekNorth High School, Bemidji; Twin Cities Academy, St. Paul; Twin Cities German Immersion Charter School, St. Paul;

Ubah Medical Academy Charter School, Hopkins; Universal Academy Charter School, Minneapolis; Yinghua Academy, Minneapolis